In excess

by trishf

I recently read an article from Fashion’s Collective about the fashion industry being on the brink of excess, and it struck a chord with me.

Over consumption plagues our world, whether we choose to admit it or not. We buy things we think we need, or worse, we don’t even like, lured by pre-sale events, members-only viewings, flash sales and deep discounts – sometimes up to 90% off. These days, one doesn’t even have to step outside to land that new purse, or the latest pair of shoes. With a few clicks of the mouse, the mint purchase will be at your front door in no time. Instant gratification feeds our immediate need for over abundance.

I’d be the first to admit I’m guilty. Never have I been closer to feeding into this incessant irrational need for the latest or prettiest garb till we came to New York. Competition is stiff. Step up or ship out.

But I’m happy to say that was a long time ago. Just as the city once trapped me in the cycle of excessiveness, it is also where I learnt less is really more. These days, if I don’t need it, I won’t buy it. If I could walk away and not dwell on it for more than 24 hours, I probably won’t think about it ever.

“Buy less, choose well.” – Vivienne Westwood

