Brain food

by trishf

Books are like food for the brain. It feeds. It nourishes. It keeps the mind alive and the soul active.

Now with time on my hands, I am only too happy to finally be reading again.

Utterly intriguing, penetratingly insightful and superbly written. “Unorthodox” by Deborah Feldman couldn’t be a more fascinating read. Offering an unprecedented glimpse into the ultra-conservative and oppressive world she grew up in, Feldman is a Hasidic Jew born and raised in Williamsburg, Brooklyn, home to one of the largest concentration of Jews outside of Israel.

Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of my Hasidic Roots.

Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of my Hasidic Roots.

Ever so often, as we ride on our bikes around Williamsburg and through the Hasidic community in South Williamsburg, we are curiously drawn to the oddly insular and uniformly adorned Hasids. This book offers a rare insight into the community we often wonder but never really known. Though the reviews may be controversial stemming from Feldman’s biased point of view, tales of personal agenda and accusations of immaturity (she was only 22 when this book was published), I thoroughly enjoyed riding the journey of her story. It was surprisingly moving and purposely articulated.

Overall, a mind-opening read for me with several question marks in my head now answered.

