Crafty in the Kitchen

by trishf

Growing up, my mum always kept us out of the kitchen for fear of messing up her expensive wares or leaving her with a heap of dirty pots and pans to clean up. So when we moved, and I finally have a kitchen, albeit a NY-sized one, to call my own, I was only too eager to indulge in one of my favourite past times.

While I love to bake, and that has more to do with the fact that I am the biggest sugar fiend I know, plus the smell of freshly baked goods, as it whiffles through the apartment is one of my favourite things in the world, I suspect I’m more of a cook.

The answer is simple: I hate following directions. I hate exactitude. I am impatient.

The premise of baking is easy to understand – if you miss a step in the process and something screws up in the mysterious chain of chemical reactions, your souffle falls flat. Baking is a science, and cooking is an art – art you can taste as you go along, and for me that’s a big part of it. I like to taste my food. I like to throw things together as I am cooking. I like to improvise along the way. Sheepishly, I have to admit, I’ve improvised some baking recipes along the way, and the results have so far turned out fine. Phew.

Cooking or baking can offer a respite from the everyday. So whether I am a cook or a baker, I love being crafty in the kitchen and the payoff is that I get to enjoy the food of my labour. And that’s all the betterΒ when sugar is involved.

